Off the Record: April Edition.

Good news don't sell.

I’m hopeful.

You may want to read that again. I don’t think I’ve ever typed these words before.

In all seriousness, we need to talk about social media. I make it a point not to give marketing advice. I’m very unqualified for the job. Plain terrible. Hence, I shut my (loud) mouth. I can rant about it every once in a while, but that’s not quite helpful now, is it?

Today is different. Today I come bearing good news. Haha, I know.

It seems that we’ve reached a dead end. I’m sure you’ve noticed it too. It started last year.

Social media is toxic, but it also stopped being fun. Everything is over-produced these days. Completely over the top. A cut every second or less, zoom in, out, slide, huge captions in your face, etc…
The desperate tools of audience retention.

We’re all growing tired of it. And it seems that the algorithm is pushing more and more natural-looking videos, closer to vlog-like content almost.
The question remains, is it another trend or a more long-term change, a new era, if you will?

It’s too early to know for sure. But in any case, that’s great news in my book.

This mindset shift is bigger than just social media. It reveals a much deeper issue within our societies. And it will change the way we produce records.

I mentioned the loneliness epidemic last month. We’ve never been so connected, yet we’ve never felt more alone. At the end of the day, that’s what we all seek: genuine connection. Social media promised us connection, and failed to deliver.

How much can you relate to these auto-tuned, over-edited records, 100% digital, 100% fake?
Artists, producers, engineers, session players: we’re all tired of making them. And guess what? The audience is also seeking something else.

Believe it or not, AI might even be speeding this process up. I’m putting my money on that. It’s half hope, half facts, but I’ve always been a bit of a gambler.

So, together, let’s head towards a decade of more natural-sounding music. Real performances, recorded by real people in a real room. These records will be harder to capture, true. Even more so after a couple of decades of editing every single note. Yet I am hopeful.

But then again, what do I know…

The Unsung Hero

Tambourine, shakers, cowbell: small percussions can transform your song. Often overlooked, they are invaluable tools in the production arsenal.

They can:

- fill in the gaps in a sparse, slower beat; they are the glue you need to lock in to the groove;

- build momentum – sometimes all you need is a shaker to lift up that third chorus;

- make a four-on-the-floor beat interesting, without losing the drive of the pattern;

- widen the stereo image, by creating more differences between the left and right channels.

Last, but not least: they will bring back some human feel. It’s not easy to perform a 16th note shaker part to the perfection. You’ll push and pull. Leave some of that in.

But remember: not every cake needs icing.

By day, I run a songwriting shop called Rosemary Transduction. I craft songs with love and (a bunch of) instruments for artists of all shapes and sizes.

If you’re in need of pretty notes…

Growing Pains

If we’ve ever talked about acoustic music, you know about Will Knox.

Years ago, in rainy Yorkshire, I fell in love with his first record, The Matador & The Acrobat.

His words always hit home, his fingerpicking the steady engine driving his tasteful arrangements. This song is a wonderful introduction to his world.

From the Vault

Like what you read? Explore the longer articles on my blog. Today’s pick:
Before Coffee: The Magical Mornings.

Fare Thee Well

Last month I asked for your feedback on different formats for this newsletter. I’m glad to say that the longer, monthly email won by a landslide. Thank you to everyone who voted, and thank you for reading my words each month.
It warms my little boomer’s heart.

Spring is upon us in Europe. Sit down on a sunny terrace, order your favourite coffee, and ask yourself: what went wrong so far this year?

We’re only three months in. You can still address the issue and make 2024 a great year.

If this newsletter has left you feeling inspired, do me a huge favour and tell one person to subscribe.