Off the Record: the first issue!

This is not a drill, we are airborne!

Alright, alright. We’ve all heard it, we’ve all read about it. Spotify’s new policy means that they will stop paying royalties for songs that don’t reach a thousand plays a year.

Everyone’s been talking about it, the big and small content creators in the industry. I’ve been to a few music conferences since the news dropped and it was the hottest topic every time.

As an artist, I’m quite mad. It’s about the principle. Whatever amount of money they owe me, they should pay it. It was earned by my music, into which I poured hundreds of hours, dough, blood, sweat, and tears (the whole shebang). It belongs to me. It doesn’t matter how small. These little things keep you going when the going gets tough. You feel more legit. So cough it up, bitch.

As an industry professional, though, I get why they’re doing it. But it is a very arbitrary threshold that will affect many, many people. Especially in smaller markets, like the Balkans, from where I’m writing this.

Two things worry me (and no, it ain’t missing out on the loose change they were graciously sending my way).

1. The threshold.

It has been set to 1000 streams now, but why wouldn’t they raise the bar next year? After all, they make the rules. If they can get away with it (and so far, they are), why not cut off even more artists, and raise it to 5000 or 10,000?

2. The redistribution of these (stolen) royalties.

The billion gathered by the policy change (600 million from Tunecore artists only) will be distributed amongst developing artists. Meaning, it would up their rate per stream. Now that sounds fantastic, doesn’t it?

Well, not so fast. Spotify has never deserved my trust, so I cannot help but think that this big bankroll will end up in the wrong pockets. Weren’t the Majors the ones knocking on Spotify’s door, asking for more money a change?

The new policy is not all bad. Yet I’m worried this money will only deepen the gap between independent and major artists.

But then again, what do I know…

PS: if you want to dive deeper into the implemented changes, watch this.

Mixing is arranging.

Nowadays most mixing problems stem from lack of decisions. If your song sounds muddy, it probably is. Too much information fighting for the same frequencies.

Good arranging is like good writing. You aim to convey your message in the fewest possible number of words. Clarify your idea. Use fewer words. Fewer notes. Fewer instruments.

When facing this problem, try muting parts one by one. Appreciate the difference, then decide.

Complex and busy arrangements do have their place. But it takes a lot of experience to make them work seamlessly.

Alma Mater

Today I’m featuring this recent Bleachers’ track from their upcoming fourth album.

It’s refreshing to hear some experimentation from a huge pop act like they are. This tune is quite special. It wasn’t love at first sight, but it grew on me. A lot.

It’s all about the mood, and it clicked when they released the music video. It has a very Badalamenti / Lynch vibe. It’s no secret that I’m a sucker for it. I love these saxes roaming free over that steady beat.

My first thought was, how are they gonna perform that one live… Well, they recently did on Seth Meyers talk show. Twas rather sick, if you ask me.

From the Vault

Like what you read? Dive deeper with longer articles on my blog. Today’s pick is On Being Honest.

Fare Thee Well

I don’t know about you, but 2024 snuck up on me a little bit. It’s still January though. Anything is possible. There is no better time to write down what you want to accomplish in the next twelve months, and make a plan.

Who do you want to become this year?

I’m still very much shaping this newsletter. Please hit reply & let me know your thoughts on this first edition. Suggestions welcomed! Tell me what you wanna read, and I might just write it.
Thank you in advance!